Joyce Carol Oates Delivers the 2017 Blashfield Address

The 2017 Blashfield Address, entitled “The Wounded Deer Leaps Highest: Motives for Metaphor,” was delivered by Joyce Carol Oates on May 17, 2017, at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial.  Ms. Oates, a prolific novelist, playwright, and poet, was awarded the Rosenthal Award for Literature in 1968, and was elected to membership in 1978.   Listen to address by … Continue reading Joyce Carol Oates Delivers the 2017 Blashfield Address

Lynn Nottage, 2017 Award of Merit Medal for Drama

2017 Literature Award Winners

19 writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry receive 2017 awards in literature, totaling $265,000.

2017 Architecture Award Winners

The Academy gives awards in architecture to Diébédo Francis Kéré, Theaster Gates, Paul Goldberger, Walter Hood, and John Ronan.

2017 Art Award Winners

The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the nine artists who will receive its 2017 awards in art. The art prizes and purchases, totaling over $250,000, honor both established and emerging artists.

An Afternoon of Music and Art

On Sunday, March 19th, 2017, Ensemble Échappé will play contemporary classical works by the winners of the 2016 Arts and Letters Awards in Music.

2017 Music Award Winners

Sixteen composers receive awards totaling $195,000.

2017 Newly Elected Members

In mid-May, Calvin Trillin, secretary, will induct fourteen newly elected members and President Yehudi Wyner will induct three new foreign honorary members.

Musical wins 2017 Richard Rodgers Award

What I Learned from People by Will Aronson and Hue Park received a Production Award.

2017 Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts

Paintings, sculptures, works on paper, and installations by 35 contemporary artists will be on view in the Academy’s galleries from Thursday, March 9 to Sunday, April 9, 2017, 1 – 4 p.m. The exhibition is free and open to the public.

Academy Launches New Website

The Academy has launched a new website. Please contact with feedback.