Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00


This sub content title section you can add you real content.

2016 Blashfield Address

Garrison Keillor delivered the Academy’s 2016 Blashfield Address titled “My Legacy, the Limerick.” Each year since 1917, a distinguished speaker has been asked to deliver the Blashfield Address on some aspect of arts and letters. Recent speakers include Robert A. Caro, Elaine Scarry, Michael Chabon, Chuck Close, and Louise Gluck.

2014 Blashfield Address

The 2014 Blashfield Address, titled Beauty and the Pact of Aliveness, was delivered by Elaine Scarry at the Ceremonial on May 21st, 2014. Ms. Scarry is the Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and the General Theory of Value at Harvard University. Click here to view a PDF of the 2014 Blashfield Address.

2012 Blashfield Address

The 2012 Blashfield Address, titled How We Got Here, was delivered by Chuck Close at the Ceremonial on May 16, 2012. Mr. Close was elected to Academy membership in 1992. Listen to the 2012 Blashfield Address, as well as the opening remarks by the Academy’s president Henry N. Cobb. View the text of the 2012 […]

2011 Blashfield Address

The 2011 Blashfield Address, titled The Play’s The Thing, was delivered by Rocco Landesman at the Ceremonial on May 18, 2011. Mr. Landesman has taught dramatic literature at Yale, produced several Broadway shows, and served as president of Jujamcyn, a company that owns and operates five Broadway theaters. Since 2009 he has served at chairman […]

2010 Blashfield Address

The 2010 Blashfield Address, entitled T. S. Eliot and Me, was delivered by the journalist and humorist Calvin Trillin at the Ceremonial on May 19, 2010. Mr. Trillin was elected to the Academy in 2008. He has been on the staff of The New Yorker since 1963, and his body of written work includes comic […]

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters