Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Exhibitions

2012 Exhibition of Work by Newly Elected Members and Recipients of Honors and Awards

May 17 – June 10 2012

The American Academy of Arts and Letters is pleased to announce its exhibition of paintings, sculpture, works on paper, and photographs; architectural models and renderings; and original manuscripts by newly elected members and recipients of honors and awards. Works will be on view from May 17 through June 10, at the Academy galleries located on historic Audubon Terrace.

Paintings, sculpture, works on paper, photographs, architectural models and renderings by:

Newly Elected Members in Art

Lynda Benglis
Elizabeth Diller
Kenneth Frampton
Robert Gober
Kara Walker

Foreign Honorary Members in Art

Anish Kapoor
Yayoi Kusama

Architecture Award Winners

Hilary Ballon, Marlon Blackwell
Elizabeth Gray & Alan Organschi
Kathryn Gustafson
Michael Maltzan

Art Award Winners

John Newman
Joyce Pensato
Nathlie Provosty
Michael E. Smith
Rebecca Smith
Elisa Soliven
Karl Wirsum
Nicole Wittenberg

Art Purchases

Larry Bell, Cora Cohen
Paul DeMuro, Rochelle Feinstein
Erik Foss
Kenji Fujita
Suzanne McClelland
Ann Pibal
Nathlie Provosty
Nancy Shaver
Carrie Mae Weems

Manuscripts and personal statements by:

Newly Elected Members in Literature

Michael Chabon,
Jonathan Franzen
Jhumpa Lahiri

Newly Elected Members in Music

Stephen Jaffe
Tobias Picker

Literature Award Winners

Roger Angell
Peter Carey
Teju Cole
Lucy Corin
Andre Dubus III
Jessica Fisher
Adam Hochschild
Michael Hofmann
Maureen Howard
David Lindsay-Abaire
Christopher Middleton
David Mitchell
Julie Otsuka
Michael Palmer
Ismet Prcic
Andrew Sarris
Frederick Seidel
Timothy Snyder

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters