Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2009 Art Award Winners

Contact: Souhad Rafey

[email protected]


New York, March 20, 2009 — The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the eight artists who will receive its 2009 awards in art. The awards will be presented in New York City in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The art prizes, totaling $57,500, honor both established and emerging artists. The award winners were chosen from a group of 30 artists who had been invited to participate in the Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts, which opened on March 12, 2009. These 30 participating artists had been selected from a group of over 170 artists nominated by members of the Academy. The members of this year’s selection committee were: William Bailey, Jennifer Bartlett, Chuck Close, Varujan Boghosian, Jane Freilicher, Martin Puryear, Robert Ryman, and Urusla von Rydingsvard.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters