Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2009 Literature Award Winners

Contact: Jane E. Bolster

[email protected]


New York, April 14, 2009 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the names of 17 writers who will receive its 2009 awards in literature. The awards will be presented in New York in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The literature prizes, over $125,000, honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The Academy’s 250 members nominate candidates, and a rotating committee of writers selects winners. This year’s committee members were Allan Gurganus (chairman), Kwame Anthony Appiah, Mary Gordon, A. R. Gurney, Philip Levine, Rosanna Warren, Edmund White, and Joy Williams.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters