Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2010 Newly Elected Members

New York, NY, April 14, 2010 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters will hold its annual induction and award ceremony in mid-May. J. D. McClatchy, president of the Academy, will conduct the presentation of awards in architecture, art, literature, and music. On behalf of the Academy, President McClatchy stated, “Our newly elected members are a remarkable group representing the splendid variety of excellence in the American arts. It is a pleasure to recognize their achievements, and the Academy is truly honored that they are joining us.” Secretary of the Academy, Rosanna Warren, will induct nine members into the 250-person organization: artists Thomas Nozkowski and Peter Saul and architect Thom Mayne; writers Thomas McGuane, Richard Powers, Francine Prose, and Marilynne Robinson; composers Tania León and Fred Lerdahl. President McClatchy will induct American Honorary members conductor James Levine and actor Meryl Streep, and Foreign Honorary members architects Fumihiko Maki and Alvaro Siza. Calvin Trillin will deliver the Blashfield Foundation Address, titled “Deadline Poet.” An exhibition of art, architecture, books, and manuscripts by new members and recipients of awards will be on view at the Academy’s galleries from May 20 to June 13.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters