Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2011 Newly Elected Members

New York, NY, March 9, 2011 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters will hold its annual induction and award ceremony in mid-May. J. D. McClatchy, president of the Academy, will conduct the presentation of awards in architecture, art, literature, and music. Secretary of the Academy, Rosanna Warren, will induct nine new members into the 250-person organization: artists Sylvia Plimack Mangold, Malcolm Morley, James Turrell and architect Robert A. M. Stern; writers Louis Begley, Michael Cunningham, and Rita Dove; composers Martin Boykan and Aaron Jay Kernis. President McClatchy will induct choreographer Bill T. Jones to American Honorary membership and writers Anne Carson and Elfriede Jelinek and artist William Kentridge to Foreign Honorary membership. Rocco Landesman will deliver the Blashfield Foundation Address, titled “The Play’s the Thing.” An exhibition of art, architecture, books, and manuscripts by new members and recipients of awards will be on view in the Academy’s galleries from May 19 to June 12.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters