Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2012 Newly Elected Members

Contact: Jane E. Bolster

[email protected]

(212) 368-5900

New York, NY, March 12, 2012 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters will hold its annual induction and award ceremony in mid-May. Henry N. Cobb, president of the Academy, will conduct the presentation of awards in architecture, art, literature, and music. Secretary of the Academy, Billie Tsien, will induct ten new members into the 250-person organization: artists Lynda Benglis, Robert Gober, and Kara Walker and architects Elizabeth Diller and Kenneth Frampton; writers Michael Chabon, Jonathan Franzen, and Jhumpa Lahiri; composers Stephen Jaffe and Tobias Picker. President Cobb will induct artist Anish Kapoor and composer Jo Kondo to Foreign Honorary membership. Chuck Close will deliver the Blashfield Foundation Address, titled “How We Got Here.” An exhibition of art, architecture, books, and manuscripts by new members and recipients of awards will be on view in the Academy’s galleries from May 17 to June 10.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters