Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2011 Art Award Winners

New York, March 28, 2011 — The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the seven artists who will receive its 2011 awards in art. The awards will be presented in New York City in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The art prizes, totaling $57,500, honor both established and emerging artists. The award winners were chosen from a group of 35 artists who had been invited to participate in the Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts, which opened on March 8, 2011. The Exhibition continues through April 10, 2011, and features over 110 paintings, sculptures, installations, video, and works on paper. The members of this year’s award selection committee were: Lois Dodd, Yvonne Jacquette, Alex Katz, Thomas Nozkowski, Philip Pearlstein, Judy Pfaff, Peter Saul, Joel Shapiro, and Ursula von Rydingsvard.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters