Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2011 Literature Award Winners and the Inaugural John Updike Award

Contact: Jane E. Bolster

[email protected]


New York, March 22, 2011 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the names of 19 writers who will receive its 2011 awards in literature. The awards will be presented in New York in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The John Updike award of $20,000, established by Mrs. John Updike in memory of her husband, is to be given biennially to a writer in mid-career who has demonstrated consistent excellence. The literature prizes, totaling $185,000 honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The Academy’s 250 members nominate candidates, and a rotating committee of writers selects winners. This year’s committee members were Paula Fox, Philip Levine, Romulus Linney, Alison Lurie, and Joy Williams.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters