Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2012 Literature Award Winners

Contact: Jane E. Bolster

(212) 368-5900

New York, March 14, 2012 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the names of 18 writers who will receive its 2012 awards in literature. The awards will be presented in New York in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The literature prizes, totaling $160,000, honor both established and emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. The Academy’s 250 members nominate candidates, and a rotating committee of writers selects winners. This year’s committee members were Paul Auster, Louis Begley, Robert Brustein, Louise Glück, Philip Levine, Alison Lurie, and Joy Williams.

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters