Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2013 Art Award Winners

Contact: Souhad Rafey

(212) 368-5900

New York, March 18, 2013 — The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the eight artists who will receive its 2013 awards in art. The awards will be presented in New York City in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. The art prizes, totaling $67,500, honor both established and emerging artists. The award winners were chosen from a group of 34 artists who had been invited to participate in the Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts, which opened on March 7, 2013. The Exhibition continues through April 14, 2013, and features over 120 paintings, sculptures, installations, video, and works on paper. The members of this year’s award committee were: Lois Dodd, Yvonne Jacquette, Wolf Kahn, Alex Katz, Catherine Murphy, Thomas Nozkowski, Judy Pfaff, Dorothea Rockburne, Peter Saul, and Joel Shapiro (Chairman).

Click here to view the press release.

Add Your Comment

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters