Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2022 Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts

Rodney McMillian, Untitled (setting sun), 2019

NEW YORK, March 9, 2022—The American Academy of Arts and Letters is pleased to announce its 2022 Invitational Exhibition of Visual Arts, an annual event for Academy members to honor contemporary artists who they believe are making some of today’s most important and timely work. The exhibition will be on view to the public from March 12–May 22, 2022; gallery hours are Friday through Sunday, 12–6pm.

The Invitational is an exhibition without a theme or a single author, and yet, certain tendencies emerge in this year’s installment. In many cases, the finished works destabilize, even disregard, old disciplinary questions rooted in hierarchy—is it a painting or a sculpture; art or craft? Instead, they opt for plenitude, for and, and, and. Objects in the exhibition extend the art historical archive to include artifacts of incarceration, migration, and climate emergency. They heighten our attention to color and scale. Artists employ a range of techniques: marbling, weaving, glazing, animation, found-object manipulation, collage, dark-room processing, and more, often in “wrong” or unconventional ways. We witness art’s capacity for surprise, and the enduring pleasure of material experimentation.

Participating artists were nominated by Academy members and selected by a committee of Academy visual artists. Works in the exhibition are eligible for merit awards and purchase prizes, two important ways in which the Academy upholds its mission to foster and sustain interest in American art. Since the purchase program began, the Academy has placed over 1,300 works of art in museums across the United States.

Artists included in the 2022 Invitational Exhibition:
Candida Alvarez, Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio, Andrea Belag, Ellen Berkenblit, Garrett Bradley, Kerstin Brätsch, Cynthia Daignault, Carl D’Alvia, Thomas Eggerer, Hadi Fallahpisheh, Keltie Ferris, Judy Fox, Joanne Greenbaum, Rachel Harrison, Anna Sew Hoy, Tishan Hsu, Jacqueline Humphries, Suzanne Jackson, Tomashi Jackson, Elisabeth Kley, Pam Lins, Rodney McMillian, Laura Newman, Janice Nowinski, Eileen Quinlan, Matt Saunders, Arlene Shechet, Arthur Simms, Michael Smith, Shinique Smith, Martine Syms, Kennedy Yanko

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters