Open Daily 9:30–6:00, Monday Until 8:00

Back to Announcements

2017 Exhibition of Work by New Members and Award Winners

Contact: Jeanette Wallace

(212) 368-5900

May 18 – June 11, 2017

View as PDF

New York, NY, May 3, 2017 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters is pleased to announce its exhibition of paintings, works on paper, video, and photographs; architectural models and renderings; and original manuscripts by newly elected members and recipients of honors and awards. Works will be on view from May 18 through June 11, at the Academy galleries located on Audubon Terrace in Washington Heights.

Paintings, sculptures, works on paper, photographs, videos, architectural models
and renderings

Newly Elected Members in Art
Mary Heilmann, Julie Mehretu, Annabelle Selldorf, Stanley Whitney

The Gold Medal for Painting
Wayne Thiebaud

Architecture Award Winners
Theaster Gates
Paul Goldberger
Walter Hood
Diébédo Francis Kéré
John Ronan

Art Award Winners
Marissa Bluestone, Janice Caswell, Louise Despont, Cornelia Foss, Joe Fyfe, Vanessa German, Thomas Lanigan-Schmidt, Joanna Pousette-Dart, Hap Tivey

Art Purchases
Joe Ballweg, Andrea Bergart, Marissa Bluestone, Caetlynn Booth, Janice Caswell, Daniella Dooling, Joe Fyfe, David Hornung, Joyce Kozloff, Thomas Lanigan-Schmidt, Kakyoung Lee, Marilyn Lerner, Michael Luchs, Beverly McIver, Kathy Muehlemann, Helen O’Leary, Walter Robinson David Seccombe, Jonathan Shahn, Greta Waller

Manuscripts and personal statements

Newly Elected Members in Literature & Music
Henri Cole, Junot Díaz, Amy Hempel, Edward Hirsch, Ursula K. Le Guin, Colum McCann, Ann Patchett, Kay Ryan, Melinda Wagner, Julia Wolfe

Newly Elected Foreign Honorary Members
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Kaija Saariaho
Zadie Smith

Award for Distinguished Service to the Arts
Adam Weinberg

The Gold Medal for Belles Lettres and Criticism
Janet Malcolm

Literature Award Winners
Joan Acocella, Ayad Akhtar, Chris Bachelder, Paul Beatty, Judy Blume, Kathleen Graber, Jennifer Haigh, Lee Clay Johnson, August Kleinzahler, Elizabeth Kolbert, Robert Macfarlane, Karan Mahajan, Jamaal May, Dominique Morisseau, Lynn Nottage Richard Sieburth, Safiya Sinclair, Dana Spiotta, Luis Alberto Urrea

Music Award Winners
Lisa Bielawa, Yu-Hui Chang, Ryan Chase, Jan Krzywicki, Andrew Norman, Jake Landau, Eric Guinivan, Saad Haddad, Carl Schimmel, Dalit Warshaw

American Academy of Arts and Letters

The American Academy of Arts and Letters, chartered by Congress, was established in 1898 to foster, assist, and sustain an interest in literature, music, and the fine arts. Founding members include William Merritt Chase, Kenyon Cox, Daniel Chester French, Childe Hassam, Henry James, Theodore Roosevelt, Elihu Vedder, and Woodrow Wilson.

Each year, the Academy gives over $1 million in awards to artists, architects, writers, and composers. The Academy presents exhibitions of art, architecture, manuscripts, and subsidizes readings and performances of new musicals. The 119-year-old organization is located in three landmark buildings, designed by McKim, Mead & White, Cass Gilbert, and Charles Pratt Huntington, on Audubon Terrace between 155 and 156 streets and Broadway.

Captions: (left to right)
Mary Heilmann, Vivian, 2015 © Mary Heilmann, courtesy 303 Gallery, New York, and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: John Berens
Marissa Bluestone, Lean In 2015. Courtesy the artist
Diébédo Francis Kéré, Schorge Secondary School, 2016. Photo: Iwan Baan
Wayne Thiebaud, Swimsuit Figures 1966. Art © Wayne Thiebaud Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY
Stanley Whitney, Black Beauty, 2016 © Stanley Whitney Courtesy Lisson Gallery
Walter Hood, New de Young Museum Gardens San Francisco, CA, 2005 © Steve Proehl Courtesy Hood Design Studio
David Hornung, Downstream, 2016. 2017 Hassam, Speicher, Betts and Symons Fund Purchase
Jonathan Shahn, Head with Big Nose, 2009. 2017 Sculpture Fund Purchase
Louise Despont, Energy Scaffolds and Information Architecture (Return to formlessness) 2015. Courtesy the artist and Nicelle Beauchene Gallery
Walter Robinson, Macy’s 60% Off 2015. 2017 Hassam, Speicher, Betts and Symons Fund Purchase
Janice Caswell, Construction 78, 2016. 2017 Hassam, Speicher, Betts and SymonsFund Purchase. Courtesy the artist

© 2021 American Academy of Arts and Letters